Banua Dayak

Tuah Jubata Ka' Talino

MUSIC OF DAYAK


from: http://www.kutaikartanegara.com/

Dayak tribe has various musical instruments, such as plucking instrument, beating instrument and woodwind instrument .In its daily life, music is also important means of communication and praising to the powerful, either the spirits or human being. Besides, these musical instruments were also used for accompanying various dances.  Just like in the dance, they also have some forms of rhythm in the music and also certain songs to accompany a dance or certain ceremony. Each has its own uniqueness.

Drum
There are many kinds of drums known by Dayak Tanjung tribe such as Prahi, Gimar, Tuukng Tuat and Pampong.

Genikng
It is a big gong which is hung on a supporting platform just like Javanese gongs.

Gong
It is similar with Javanese gongs, which is 50-60 cm in diameter.

Glunikng
It is a kind of beating musical instrument of which the blade are made of ulin timber. It is similar to saron in Java.

Jatung Tutup
It is a big drum with 3 m in length and 50 cm in diameter.

Jatung Utang
It is a kind of beating musical instrument made of timber with shape similar to gambang (traditional instrument similar to xylophone.). It has 12 keys, hung from top to bottom and was played by both hands.

Kadire
It is a woodwind musical instrument made of banana stem and has 5 bamboo pipes which is played by manipulating air inside the mouth cavity in order to produce buzzing tones.

Klentangan
It is a beating musical instrument consists of six small gongs which are arranged according to certain tone in a square-like supporting platform. It has similarity in shape to bonang instrument in Java. The small gongs are made of brass while the platform is made of timber.

Sampe
It is a kind of guitar or plucking instrument with 3 or 4 strings. It usually decorated with special Dayak ornaments or carvings.

Suliikng
It is a woodwind musical instrument made of bamboo. There are some types of suliikng: Bangsi/Serunai, Suliikng Dewa, Kelaii and Tompong.

Taraai
It is a small gong which is hung on a supporting platform. The beater is made of smoother timber.

Uding (Uring)
It is a kind of kecapi (plucking instrument) made of bamboo or coconut tree. This instrument is also known as Genggong (Bali) or Karinding (West Java).

MUSIC OF KUTAI

Voice/Musical Art of Kutai is largely influenced by Malay and Islamic culture. Some of them are:

1. Tingkilan Music
The special musical art of Kutai is Tingkilan music, which has something in common with Malayan art. Some musical instruments involved in Tingkilan are Gambus (a kind of six-string guitar) ketipung (a kind of small drum), kendang (a kind of rebana which is big and has only one side of leather). Tingkilan music is accompanied by song called betingkilan. Betingkilan means acting and replying each other. In the past, Tingkilan was held by two singers of man and women who were replying each other with the song containing advices, love, praise, or even teasing or mocking using funny words. This Tingkilan music is also used to accompany gathering dance of Kutai people, that is Jepen Dance.

2. Hadrah
This art uses terbang or rebana instrument. This art is carried out while beating the terbang accompanied by songs in Arabic language taken from Barjanji Book. This kind of art is usually performed to accompany a procession of delivering groom to the bride?s house, besides, it also performed at Islamic holydays.

6 September 2010 - Posted by | musik, Uncategorized

21 Komentar »

  1. When someone writes an article he/she maintains the thought of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of
    it. Therefore that’s why this post is perfect. Thanks!

    Komentar oleh harness 375 inch | 12 Oktober 2014 | Balas

  2. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme
    of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get
    that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a great job with this. Additionally,
    the blog loads extremely fast for me on Chrome.
    Excellent Blog!

    Komentar oleh Parthenia C. Goldhammer | 11 Oktober 2014 | Balas

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was
    wondering what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like
    yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100%
    certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

    Komentar oleh Gabriel W. Underdue | 6 Oktober 2014 | Balas

  4. constantly i used to read smaller articles which also clear their
    motive, and that is also happening with this paragraph which I am reading at this time.

    Komentar oleh Daine U. Berdar | 2 Oktober 2014 | Balas

  5. I don’t know if it’s just me or if everybody else encountering issues with your blog.
    It appears as though some of the written text in your content are running off the screen.
    Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too?
    This may be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this
    happen previously. Many thanks

    Komentar oleh Leilani B. Jenkin | 25 September 2014 | Balas

  6. Your weblog seems to be having some compatibilty issues in my chrome browser.

    The content seems to be running off the webpage pretty bad.
    If you want you can email me at: major-mcpherson@gmail.
    com and I will shoot you over a screen grab of the problem.

    Komentar oleh appliance repair | 6 Agustus 2013 | Balas

  7. Hello. Sorry to hassle you but I ran across your site and noticed you happen to be using the exact same template as me.

    The only problem is on my blog, I’m struggling to get the layout looking like yours. Would you mind e-mailing me at: lilianaingram@gmail.com so I can get this figured out. By the way I have bookmarked your web page: https://banuadayak.wordpress.com/2010/09/06/music-of-dayak/ and will certainly be visiting often. Thankyou!

    Komentar oleh used refrigerators | 30 Juli 2013 | Balas

  8. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout
    of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of
    content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two
    images. Maybe you could space it out better?

    Komentar oleh appliance repair | 29 Juli 2013 | Balas

  9. Be guaranteed to have placed the remote a long way
    away from either you or your partners reach. Many of us take some little bit of time as soon
    as the New Year festivities have ended to upgrade and organize various parts in our lives.
    It is much less expensive to make than its original counterpart, minimizing in fat, too.

    Komentar oleh family guy | 28 Juli 2013 | Balas

  10. Fantastic website you have here but I was curious about if
    you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics discussed
    here? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

    Komentar oleh popilearska | 23 Juli 2013 | Balas

  11. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole
    my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is
    totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

    Komentar oleh Islandia | 21 Juli 2013 | Balas

  12. Remarkable! Its genuinely amazing post, I have got much clear idea concerning from this paragraph.

    Komentar oleh golf carts for sale in the villages | 21 Juni 2013 | Balas

  13. I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet visitors, its really really good piece of writing
    on building up new webpage.

    Komentar oleh testy piłkarskie | 21 Juni 2013 | Balas

  14. I like it when folks come together and share ideas. Great website, continue
    the good work!

    Komentar oleh Kermit | 20 Juni 2013 | Balas

  15. Good info. Lucky me I ran across your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book marked it for later!

    Komentar oleh college football tv schedule | 18 Juni 2013 | Balas

  16. Fill your tank to within about 6-8 inches from the top to
    avoid overflow when adding the rest of your components.
    Percula clownfish have 10 dorsal spines while ocellaris
    has 11. BTA’s can also be split manually by cutting them in half with a razor blade or very sharp knife.

    Komentar oleh http://formacion.santiagoapostol.net//user/view.php?id=2259&course=1 | 15 Juni 2013 | Balas

  17. Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a stuff! present here at this webpage, thanks admin of this web site.

    Komentar oleh Vernita | 22 Mei 2013 | Balas

  18. It’s truly very difficult in this active life to listen news on TV, so I just use internet for that reason, and take the newest information.

    Komentar oleh Staci | 18 Mei 2013 | Balas

  19. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but
    I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for novice blog writers? I’d definitely
    appreciate it.

    Komentar oleh www.icts-and-society.net | 9 Maret 2013 | Balas

  20. The post has proven beneficial to myself. It’s very educational and you really are naturally very well-informed of this type.
    You get popped my personal face to varying opinion
    of this subject matter with intriquing, notable
    and solid content material.

    Komentar oleh ambien | 4 Maret 2013 | Balas

  21. “MUSIC OF DAYAK Banua Dayak” was indeed in fact enjoyable and informative!
    In modern world honestly, that is very difficult to manage.
    Thanks, Salvatore

    Komentar oleh Nicholas | 19 Februari 2013 | Balas


Tinggalkan Balasan

